Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Best Adirondack Books of 2009 Honored

Writers, editors, publishers, and book lovers gathered at the Blue Mountain Center in Blue Mountain Lake last Sunday to hear the announcements of the Adirondack Center for Writing’s (ACW’s) annual Adirondack Literary Award winners.

The Adirondack Literary Awards celebrate and acknowledge the books that were written by Adirondack authors or published in the region in the previous year. All of the books submitted for consideration this year were on display, giving a visual sense of the scope of our Adirondack literary achievements, and many of the authors had signed copies of their books for sale.

This year’s winners were:

Best Book of Poetry: American Cool by George Drew (Tamarack Editions)

Best Children’s Book: Bug Boy by Eric Luper (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Best Memoir: American by Choice by Walter Kroner (Shires Press)

Best Book of Photography: The Adirondacks: In Celebration of the Seasons by Mark Bowie and Lake George by Carl Heilman (both published by North Country Books, who received special recognition from the judges for their books of photography).

The nonfiction category was divided into awards for collected works and general nonfiction. The award for collected works went to The Great Experiment in Conservation: Voices from the Adirondack Park, edited by William F. Porter, Jon d. Erickson and Ross S. Whaley and published by Syracuse University Press.

The award for best book of nonfiction went to Short Carries, Essays from Adirondack Life, Elizabeth Folwell (Adirondack Life, Inc) which also took home the People’s Choice Award, which is voted on by ACW members for the best book of the year, regardless of genre.

For the first time the nonfiction judges acknowledged a “sleeper of the year” award which went to Dog Hikes in the Adirondacks, edited by Annie Stoltie and Elisabeth Ward and published by Shaggy Dog Press.

Judges for the Adirondack Literary Awards were:

Nonfiction and memoir: Bibi Wein and Jerry McGovern

Fiction: Ellen Rocco and Joseph Bruchac (no fiction award was named this year, all entries will be considered next year)

Poetry: Stephanie Coyne-DeGhett and Maurice Kenny

Children’s Literature: Danielle Hoepfl and Nancy Beattie

For a complete list of the books considered this year, visit

Related Stories

Editorial Staff

Stories under the Almanack's Editorial Staff byline come from press releases and other notices.

Send news updates and story ideas to Almanack Editor Melissa Hart at [email protected]

Comments are closed.

Support the Adirondack Almanack and the Adirondack Explorer all year long with a monthly gift that fits your budget.

Support the Adirondack Almanack and the Adirondack Explorer all year long with a monthly gift that fits your budget.