Monday, December 19, 2016

DEC Issues Final Westward Waters Unit Management Plan

westward-waters-land-mapNew York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC)  has announced that the final Westward Waters Unit Management Plan (UMP) outlining the improved recreational access and the management of 13 state forests, seven parcels of detached Forest Preserve, eight Fishing Access Sites, and two Fisherman Parking Areas in Lewis County has been issued.

The Westward Waters Unit Management Area includes a Demonstration Area at the Lowville Office, the Otter Creek Horse Trail Complex, Lake Bonaparte and Eatonville campsites, and several fishing access sites, including Crystal Creek, Burdick’s Crossing, Castorland, Beeches Bridge, Lowville, Glenfield, Denley Dam, and Deer River.

The unit contains more than 39,430 total acres of state-owned parcels in the Lewis County towns of Croghan, Diana, Greig, Lyonsdale, New Bremen, and Watson.

These lands provide recreational opportunities, including hiking, hunting, fishing, snowmobiling, horseback riding, trapping, and bird watching, and are also a source of forest products.

The Westward Waters Unit Management Plan is available to view or download on DEC’s website.

Map: Westward Waters Location Map, courtesy DEC.

Related Stories

Stories under the Almanack's Editorial Staff byline come from press releases and other notices.

Send news updates and story ideas to Alamanck Editor Melissa Hart at

Comments are closed.