The New York State Police are conducting a week-long enforcement initiative to crack down on speeding and aggressive drivers across the state.
The “Speed Week” campaign runs from Thursday, June 7th through Wednesday, June 13.
Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and unmarked cars, what police call “Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles.”
Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one third of all fatal crashes in New York State. More than 42,000 people die as the result of traffic crashes each year on our nation’s highways and hundreds of thousands are seriously injured. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages 3 to 33.
“Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement,” an announcement sent to the press said. “Troopers will also be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up, and drivers that are violating New York’s Move Over law.”
During the August 2017 Speed Week campaign, State Police say they issued more than 19,000 traffic tickets including more than 7,900 for speeding, and over 580 for distracted driving.
The fines for speeding on 55 mph highway or posted 65 mph zones are as follows:
10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $150
11- 30 mph over the limit – min $90/max $300
31 mph or more over the limit – min $180/max $600
10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $300
11 – 30 over the limit – min $90 /max $450
31 or more over the limit – min $180/max $750
10 mph or less over the limit – min $45/max $525
11 – 30 over the limit – min $90 /max $675
31 or more over the limit – min $180/max $975
Court Surcharges are as follows:
Town or village courts – $93
Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) – $88
Violation Point Structure:
1-10 mph over limit = 3 points
11-20 mph over limit = 4 points
21 – 30 mph over limit = 6 points
30 – 40 mph over limit = 8 points
More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)