The Fort Ticonderoga Association has announced that it has acquired 47 acres on the east face of Mount Defiance, to help protect the historically important mountain from which the British took Fort Ticonderoga in 1777.
The acquisition was made possible through partnership with the Open Space Institute (OSI) which provided a $46,000 grant for the purchase and related expenses.
“Fort Ticonderoga has a long history of land conservation and historic preservation dating back to 1820 when William Ferris Pell purchased the garrison grounds and placed a fence around the fort ruins marking the earliest act of preservation by a private individual in America,” said Beth L. Hill, Fort Ticonderoga President and CEO in an announcement to the press. Hill called it “an important addition” to the Fort’s 2,000-acres.
Mount Defiance is one of Fort Ticonderoga’s most important historic features and provides more than 75,000 visitors the opportunity to visualize and understand why Ticonderoga was the key to the continent in the 18th century. Best known historically for its role in the British capture of Ticonderoga in 1777, the mountain was utilized in some degree by every army who occupied Ticonderoga. Today, visiting the private summit of Mount Defiance is often part of the Fort Ticonderoga experience. It offers a unique vantage point over a military landscape that helped shape American, British, and French History.
Welcoming visitors since 1909, Fort Ticonderoga holds North America’s largest 18th-century artillery collection, 2,000 acres of historic landscape on Lake Champlain, and Carillon Battlefield, and the largest series of untouched Revolutionary War era earthworks surviving in America.
Photo of view of Mt. Defiance from Fort Ticonderoga courtesy Fort Ticonderoga.