Friday, November 23, 2018

Input Sought On Tug Hill East, East Branch Fish Creek Plans

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is asking the public for input on the development of the draft Tug Hill East Unit Management Plan (UMP) and the East Branch Fish Creek Easement Recreation Management Plan (RMP). DEC has encouraged the public to share comments on the plans at a session on Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2018.

The 20,322-acre Tug Hill East Unit consists of State Forest lands in the towns of Osceola, Lewis, Turin, West Leyden, and Martinsburg in southeastern Lewis County. The unit includes Cottrell States Forest, East Branch of Fish Creek State Forest, East Osceola State Forest, Lesser Wilderness State Forest, Line Brook State Forest, Mohawk Springs State Forest, Raywood Unique Area, and Swancott Mill State Forest. The East Branch Fish Creek Easement consists of two tracts totaling 44,146 acres in the towns of Lewis, Martinsburg, Montague, Osceola, and West Turin.

These easement lands are maned as working forest with public recreation. DEC will accept public input on these management plans on Nov. 27, 2018, from 6 to 8:30 pm, at Constableville Fire Hall, 3000 Main St, Constableville. In addition, public comments can be submitted by mail to Andrea Mercurio, State Lands Forester or Michael Giocondo, Conservation Easement Forester, NYS DEC, 7327 State Route 812, Lowville, New York 13367, or by email to

All comments must be received by January 15, 2019. DEC will review comments received as it develops the draft Unit Management Plan and Recreation Management Plan. For more information visit Tug Hill East Unit and East Branch Fish Creek Easement.

Related Stories

Stories under the Almanack's Editorial Staff byline come from press releases and other notices.

Send news updates and story ideas to Alamanck Editor Melissa Hart at

Comments are closed.

Wait! Before you go:

Catch up on all your Adirondack
news, delivered weekly to your inbox