Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Nominations Sought for Adirondack Preservation Awards

2018 AARCH Preservation Award WinnersAdirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH), the historic preservation organization for the Adirondack Park region, has opened nominations for its 2019 Preservation Awards.

For over 23 years, this annual awards program has recognized the sensitive restoration, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse of historic structures throughout the region, and highlighted individuals who have promoted historic preservation revitalization efforts in their communities. The awards honor the preservation work of organizations, municipalities, and individuals who make the Adirondack region a better place to live, work, and visit.

Preservation projects of all sizes and scopes are eligible for consideration. The deadline for nominations is June 1, 2019. AARCH Preservation Award recipients will be honored an a luncheon on Monday, September 9, 2019, at The Hedges, on the shores of Blue Mountain Lake. The Hedges was a 2018 AARCH Preservation Award winner for the long term care and stewardship of their historic property.

AARCH honored several projects, organizations, and individuals at their awards luncheon held late last fall at Valcour Brewing Company, a 2017 Preservation Award recipient. In addition to The Hedges, AARCH also honored the following properties and projects:

Hotel Saranac, owned by Roedel Companies, for the restoration and rehabilitation of the iconic 1927 grand hotel (Village of Saranac Lake, Franklin County);

Westport Town Hall, owned by the Town of Westport, for the restoration and renovation of the 1928 former grange hall (Town of Westport, Essex County);

Moss Ledge, owned by Mike and Wendy Lincoln, for the rehabilitation and restoration of this William Coulter-designed camp on Upper Saranac Lake (Town of Santa Clara, Franklin County);

Seven Gables Antique Shop, owned by Audrey Miller, for the rehabilitation and stewardship of this 1927 former gas station (Hamlet of Onchiota, Franklin County);

Ticonderoga High School, owned by the Ticonderoga School District, for the restoration of the historic auditorium (Town of Ticonderoga, Essex County); and

Tapawingo, owned by Margo Fish, for long term stewardship (Town of North Elba, Essex County).

To nominate a project or for more information regarding the awards or nominations process, contact Mary Cirbus, AARCH Preservation Services Director, at (518) 834-9328 or mary@aarch.org. A nomination form is available for download here. A list of past winners and projects is available on the AARCH website.

Photo of 2018 AARCH Preservation Award Winners courtesy John Eldridge.

Related Stories

Stories under the Almanack's Editorial Staff byline come from press releases and other notices.

Send news updates and story ideas to Alamanck Editor Melissa Hart at editor@adirondackalmanack.com.

Comments are closed.