Saturday, September 10, 2022

Adirondack Architectural Heritage Preservation Awards, annual meeting set for Sept. 17

The Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) Annual Meeting and Preservation Awards event will be held on Saturday, September 17 from 3 to 5 p.m. at the recently-rehabilitated Sandy Hill Arts Center in Hudson Falls, NY.

The Sandy Hill Arts Center was built in 1901 as a Masonic Temple and housed various functions over the years, including storefronts and offices. This striking Romanesque Revival-inspired brick building illustrates the prosperity that Hudson Falls (then the village of Sandy Hill) experienced as a result of the timber and papermaking boom along its powerful stretch of the Hudson River. After decades of neglect and disrepair, Bill Nikas acquired the property in 2015 and oversaw its rehabilitation. The iconic five-story structure has recently reemerged as a local landmark and vital community hub in downtown Glens Falls, thanks to the rehabilitation efforts of Bill Nikas and is now home to galleries, shops, and offices, in addition to a restaurant and event spaces available for rental.

At 3 p.m., the Annual Meeting will give attendees a chance to meet and hear what AARCH has accomplished over the past year, as well as to mingle with other AARCH members and friends.

The Annual Meeting will be followed by AARCH’s 27th Annual Preservation Awards Ceremony, where we will recognize the individuals, businesses, communities, and organizations whose work exemplifies the best of historic preservation work in the Adirondack region. This event shines a special light on the passions and extraordinary work of the people who make historic preservation such an important part of the region’s vitality.

The recipients of the 2022 AARCH Preservation Awards are:

  • Robin and Michelle Timmons, The Black Brook General Store, for the rehabilitation and community revitalization.
    • Town of Black Brook, Clinton County
  • John and Margot Ernst for the restoration and rehabilitation of Elk Lake Lodge.
    • Town of North Hudson, Essex County
  • Nettle Meadow Farm’s The Hitching Post, for restoration and community revitalization.
    • Town of Lake Luzerne, Warren County
  • Peter R. Prescott and Colleen C. Prescott Camp Trust, Prescott Cottage, for long-term stewardship.
    • Port Douglass, Town of Chesterfield, Essex County
  • Sandy Hill Arts Center, for restoration and community revitalization of the Hudson Falls Masonic Temple.
    • Village of Hudson Falls, Washington County
  • The Fort Ticonderoga Association for the restoration of The Pavilion at Fort Ticonderoga.
    • Town of Ticonderoga, Essex County
  • Wes Haynes, lifetime achievement award for preservation efforts in the Adirondacks

This is a great opportunity to experience a superb restoration project in this vibrant community space, to celebrate the wonderful accomplishments of friends and neighbors, visit with AARCH board and staff, and to enjoy each other’s company. The gathering will include hors d’oeuvres and refreshments by Ginny Rae Catering.

The Annual Meeting will begin at 3 p.m., and will be followed by the Preservation Awards Ceremony. The Annual Meeting is open to all members, with a suggested donation of $35 for those who wish to remain for the awards program.

Please visit this link to RSVP and make a suggested donation. You may also RSVP to AARCH.

Photo at top: Sandy Hill Arts Center. Image courtesy of Kendall McKernon, McKernon Gallery. 

Related Stories

Community news stories come from press releases and other notices from organizations, businesses, state agencies and other groups. Submit your contributions to Almanack Editor Melissa Hart at

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wait! Before you go:

Catch up on all your Adirondack
news, delivered weekly to your inbox